Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Report from the Hill

Just got back from a really nice tour of the Library of Congress, a place I hadn't been before. It's truly gorgeous - sculpture, mosaic, marble everywhere - plus bunches of very attractive pre-Raphaelite stuff on the ceilings and walls.

Virtual Tour of the Jefferson Building

Then, Flirty Feminist, Midwest Girl Next Door (aka the Education Curator) and I went to eat at a cute little tex-mex place, positively stuffed full of Hill staffers. When did the dress code on the Hill change over from buisness professional to Hoochie Professional? Must be all these young interns. I saw more short, tight skirts and fashion victim shoes today than I did the last time I went out dancing.

(Does this sort of bitching mean I've finally crossed over into official old fart territory? No, don't get up, I'll harpoon myself, thanks."

Off to write an email back to the old director of the Perugia trip I took in 1998 - he saw his name in my journal, and sent me an email and photo. I have to write him back, but I won't do it in Italian, because that would be painful for both him and me.

2:21 p.m. - 2003-11-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce