Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Horses fore and aft, plus gardening

Birthday treats from Bemo's mom - lunch, and another shopping spree. So I am well stocked for work clothes that will not make me swelter, as well as an assortment of just plain sexy little things that I will assuredly not be allowed to wear at work!

The weather has been gorgeous, which was nice as I started breaking ground on the soon-to-be baby herb garden at the back of Bemo's mom's house. Gives me new respect for farmers and the power of the plough - getting up the nest of weeds that had invaded that small plot of land was a bit of a bear. Luckily I had Bemo and a strong shovel to help. I'm a little concerned that the ground is a trifle clay-ish, and wondering if I need to add anything more to it than the already reccomended cow or horse poopy. Plus, from what I have read, epecially at the Debaggio herb website, where I'll be purchasing much of my plants, lavender likes a "fast-draining" soil, and in some cases they say I need to add a layer of sand. Not sure if I need to do this. I can ask Swoop, or perhaps bring it up on the sublist, as there are some suitably rabid gardeners there that would be pleased to indoctrinate me into their ways. Bemo suggested planting a nice crop of pot, but I figure his mom has enough trouble without getting raided by the police - nice of me, don't you think? Hee.

Racing luck has prevented a Triple Crown winner. Very saddened by the lack, although I don't think War Emblem was as good a horse as Sunday Silence was, and if Sunday Silence didn't win the Triple Crown, neither should War Emblem. Of course, I'm biased, because Sunday Silence was the horse that got me watching horseracing whenever I could. Not that I'm an expert, or even understand how a horse moves from the lower eschelons of racing at Rosecroft or whathaveyou to races like the Kentucky Derby, but I love to watch a race, especially live. It would have been nice symetry to have a new Triple Crown horse step in just as Seattle Slew dies.

Tomorrow, I'll try to get a little more done in the garden plot, and p'raps lay down the cow poopie. Or obtain horse poop from the stables - not sure if they'll let me cart it off from the muck pile, but I don't see why they care. They don't sell it themselves, or anything.

11:46 p.m. - 2002-06-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce