Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ennui, thesis fence-mending (maybe) and houseflys

You know your life is truly sad when the most entertainment you've had all day comes from watching three cats go bonkers trying to catch a fly that was trapped in the house. I sat in the living room for an hour and watched them freak out, and laughed my buns off.

The Bonnie, after just being sprung from the repair shop, sprang a ginormous oil leak last night. We are down to one car again, have still not finished paying for the *last* repairs to the Bonnie, and Bemo flipped his shit. Not that I blame him. In fact, he beat me to the punch, but since he got scream and rage, I had to be the sane one and soothe him. Next time, I'll be faster on the draw so I can be the crazy one.

I'm trying to make fun of this because if I think too long and too hard about it, I'll end up throwing something at something. Like a tv at one of the cats. Or canned goods at the mirrors in the dance studio. Or myself out the window. Something.

Anyway, it's almost Memorial Day weekend, and Bemo and I are heading up to State College. I intend to actually do some research. In one of those quirks of serendipity, I got an email from my thesis advisor (not a personalized one - in fact, I highly suspect he didn't realize my email was on the list he used) and I basically was pretty blunt (but friendly). I said, basically, that surprise surprise, I hadn't quite given up on my thesis although I knew he probably figured I had, and that I'd be going up to do research, blah blah blah grovelcakes. I've never understood him, and I know I never had the knack with him like Chessica and others had, but maybe this fence can be mended. He's a diva, and I'm not the type of student he prefers (sparkling witty braintrusts), but perhaps we can both get through this thesis experience without maiming each other.

Debating whether to watch American Idol tonight. Gods above and below, I am actually bored with it all. I'm basically putting in time until The Amazing Race starts, so I can see what all the fuss is about. Hmmph.

7:34 p.m. - 2003-05-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce