Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A debut for the fuzzmonkeys

The kittens made their debut today at the adoption fair. The poor things were absolutely petrified, as they hadn't ever experienced the tumult of a busy store, complete with barking dogs, and people coming up to look at them, but they weathered through it ok. Miles relaxed a bit, and Dexter eventually stopped trembling. Sadly, they were in a cage next to a big litter of adorable tabby kitlets, who were asleep in a big pile and who attracted most of the attention. But we did have people looking at them and reading the slightly corny "message" from the kittens that I wrote to attatch to their cage. In fact, it looks like Miles will be going to a "trial run" with a lady who has already adopted a cat from the rescue group. They're scheduled to be neutered sometime this week, and then I think Miles will be heading off to his hopefully permanent home. Fingers crossed, everybody. We'll see how Dexter does without him - there's a very slim possibility that we'll end up keeping him, but we haven't decided.

Went to Barnes and Noble today, to spend the gift certificate, but I wasn't feeling very well, and was sort of disappointed to see that their stock of books in the five to seven dollar range just don't interst me - I already have them, or I'm not interested. There are, however, plenty of books I want - they're just all pricier. I ended up buying a Medieval Baebes cd and a copy of Barbara Tuchman's _The Guns of August_, which I've been wanting for a while, and my card is down to fifteen bucks now. Bleah. I'll probably end up buying one more book that will eat most of that up, and then I'll have three items to show for fifty bucks, which seems wrong, somehow.

I'm rereading Kage Baker's _In The Garden of Iden_, in early anticipation of the next Children of the Company book coming out in December of this year. It's called _Life of the World To Come_, and I'm giddy with excitement.

11:01 p.m. - 2004-07-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce