Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wanted: A Nice Lap and A Man To Go With It

"Peter," said Harriet. And with the sound of her own voice she came drowsing and floating up out of the strong circle of his arms, through a green sea of sun-dappled beechleaves into darkness.

"Oh, damn," said Harriet softly to herself. "Oh, damn. And I didn't want to wake up."

The clock in the New Quad struck three musically.

"This won't do," said Harriet. "This really will not do. My sub-conscious has a most treacherous imagination." She groped for the switch of her bedside lamp. "It's disquieting to reflect that one's dreams never symbolize one's real wishes, but always something Much Worse." She turned the light on and sat up.

"If I really wanted to be passionately embraced by Peter, I should dream of something like dentists or gardening. I wonder what are the unthinkable depths of awfulness that can only be expressed by the polite symbol of Peter's embraces. Damn Peter!"

--Gaudy Night, Sayers

I haven't exactly been spending my nights dreaming of Peter, although my dream-figments are probably based on a great extent to his unparalleled qualities, but I have been having a recurring dream, which is unusual for me. A man figures in it - in fact, he's the central figure. And it's a rather simple, comforting dream, with me simply sitting, resting my head in his lap, feeling him stroke my hair. The overwhelming emotion from it is one of safety and security and overwhelming love.

Sad to say, the first appearance of this meme had me nestling in the lap of a vampire who looked like the Captain from Sound of Music. I suppose if you're looking for a powerful protector, a vampire is a pretty good candidate, since once you've surrendered your will to him, you don't mind all the blood spillage, and he will certainly keep those unruly villagers in check.

But the dream continues, with different and mostly unseen men taking the center role. I suspect that its meaning is pretty straightforward. Unlike Harriet, I am willing to admit that sometimes your dreams aren't crafty covers for something else. Sometimes dreaming of kissing Peter Wimsey means that you really, really want to be kissing Peter Wimsey. I suspect that at this moment, I'd like nothing else than to put down all my burdens, imposed or assumed, and let somebody else Do All The Hard Thinking. Although there's nothing in particular I'm having to plan out now, save for the fact that by tomorrow I'll know if I want to quit being a dog washer. Not exactly something that I need to have somebody else decide for me. So why does this dream appear now, instead of at a time when I'm truly wacked out of my mind with fear and anxiety and self-loathing? Probably because I don't sleep too well at those moments. Thanks to the time change, I've been getting to bed at a reasonable time and it's done wonders for my sleeping habits. I actually have time to do some dreaming now.

Anyway, I'm going to buzz off and run some errands and see if I can get something to buffer the leftover moussaka which is making my stomach a bit irritable. Let me know if any of you come across a man with a particularly nice lap.

5:07 p.m. - 2002-11-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce