Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Musical merry go round

It's funny how musical tastes link up. My sister introduced me to John Mayer. When he played a concert at my workplace, I got us tickets, and we both went and both fell in love with Guster, who opened for John Mayer. I've since spread Guster-loving over to Persia and Cherbear. Now, looking through the Guster links on Amazon, I find that a band called The Dispatch, which my sister also loves, is featured prominently among the "people who bought this cd also bought..." links. And in the meantime, Natalie has been spreading the John Wesley Harding love to me, and I in turn have also been cheerfully spreading it to Cherbear and others. Persia has addicted Cherbear to the Thorns, who I'm not as into, although I do like Matthew Sweet as a solo artist. The only flaw in all this seems to be that although I fully agree with Cherbear on the greatness that is U2, I seem to be lagging in her Bruce Springsteen appreciation. I mean, the man writes a good lyric, but I'm not all that into actually *listening* to him sing...

It's just amusing that everybody wants to share the music they love - sometimes very forcefully! You *will* love this music! I will make you!

I feel that way about books - well, not so much in the "you must like this" but in the "I don't comprehend how anybody could not like this" sense. After all, if I have impeccable taste, then the rest of the world will follow my interests, no?

Genibee, arbiter of taste. Except for the fact that I looked like a bag lady, standing at the slug line this morning waiting for a ride into work. I had on a denim skirt with a pair of bright red sweatpants under it, and two heavy jacket/shirt thingies, plus big-ass clonker shoes. My Amazing Tubey messenger bag was strapped over the entire ensemble. Seriously, folks, you do not want to be dressing like me for fear of being dragged away by the police on charges of public drunkeness. I'll let everybody dress themselves without my guidance. It's the least I can do for you all.

9:21 a.m. - 2003-12-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce