Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Merry Christmas, fuckos

I'd apologise for the sporadic entries of late, except for the fact that I'm in one of those moods where I figure that nobody actually reads this damn thing. While I know that's not precisely true (I do seem to have something similar to Marn's Three Loyal Readers), I'm just in one of those slightly odd journaling spaces. I'm sure it'll pass, and I'll once again be flooding the internet with stories relavant only to myself.

As usual for our family, we did the Christmas thing on Christmas Eve, so tonight was the Eating of the Thai Food (not previously a tradition, and unless we find a place that makes better satay, it certainly won't become a tradition) and the Opening of the Gifts. For once, I managed to please my mom - I gave her a cute pink and white striped fleecy robe, and a cd of arias sung by Renee Fleming. Both were received with evident pleasure. My presents were quite nice - besides the coat and scarf (which I may have already mentioned), I got a pair of great shoes, a pink nightie that is unbelievably soft, a DVD of the original _The Italian Job_, which I've been wanting to see (young Michael Cain - yum!), a stocking full of chocolate, and other assorted goodies. Bemo scored with a nice bathrobe and other boy-type items.

I've been avoiding getting the mail because I know I have tardy bills - I really spent too much money this Christmas, but for some reason, the giving spirit overpowered me, or some shit like that. I worked a few extra days at the 'Mart, and will work a few days more, and hopefully that will make up for it, especially since my paycheck should have a slight bump in it from my raise. Then again, maybe it won't compensate, and I'll be scrambling into January and February. At this rate, while I'm concerned about it, I'm not going to poke at it. It's done already.

What makes it worse is that I was playing around with my Amazon wish list so I could add the Medieval Baebes to it, and realized that there are a billion things that I want to buy. Arrgh, Amazon, thou evil temptress...

In other other news, the rewatching of Return of the King was a success. I enjoyed it a lot, although a rewatching of the first movie reaffirms my belief that it was the best (and no, it isn't the Boromir fangirl you hear talking). It's just tighter, and the most evocative, I think. No Rohirric poetry, though, which is a definite minus. I may feel moved to post some of the poetry from the book along with some snippets of Beowulf just to please myself.

Ah, well. Merry Christmas to all, and if I promised you a Christmas card, well - I haven't mailed the damn things off yet. Because I'm a horrid slug, that's why. Yes, indeedy.

2:10 a.m. - 2003-12-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce