Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the stings of beauty

So last night, a tiny Iranian woman knelt on my chest and subjected me to untold horrors while another woman and my husband sat by and laughed in cruel glee.

If only we had gotten it all on videotape, we'd make a billion dollars marketing it to the S&M crowd.

What actually happened was...I got tweezed. Yes, last night my unruly brows were brought back into some semblance of humanity by Persia and her expertly wielded tweezers. And we discovered that my right eyebrows is somehow...more feral than the left one. During all of this plucking (and the occasional scream from me, combined with dabbing my now-watering eye with a paper towel), Bemo was obliviously reading the book Persia had just given him, and offering me not a bit of sympathy. (This is turning out to be a Christmas of milestones. Bemo got a book that he's actually *reading* and I got shoes from somebody other than my mom which actually *fit*. Neither has ever happened before.)

I'm still sick, which didn't prevent me from doing a lot of dog washing yesterday. My plan to stick to phone-answering and reservation-making duties fell apart about an hour into things. However, the other bather and I were so organized that the day went by as smoothly as a cocker spaniel lathered up in Pina Colada Remoisturizing Conditioner. And baby, that's damn smooth. Trust me, it's a daily fact of my Saturday life.

On the schedule for today - watch the noon repeat of the Trading Spaces I missed last night, dress in something more concealing than the gym shorts and battered tank top that I'm wearing now, and go out to return some things to Borders. Then a stop by Target to see if I can pick up some things for Mom, who doubtless will want more pressies to open on Christmas Eve.

I'm going into work tomorrow and Tuesday, but it'll be just me and the office manager and perhaps the costume curator. I'll probably sit and file slides and play obnoxious music.

And, of course, use the digital camera to take a new picture of my improved eyebrows and post them for the world to see.

11:44 a.m. - 2002-12-22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce