Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Noble Mold

So.

My father, who I haven't seen in, oh...let's see...at least three years, now, and who doesn't bother to email, although he has my address, and who basically ran off to another country on the other side of the world, is back in town. Not here, exactly. But in his old hometown, to attend his father's 90th birthday party. But, you know, despite Virginia being close to Missouri (closer than Virginia and Korea, anyway), he didn't bother to let me or my little sister know. Or make plans to visit. Because he's a punk-ass bastard. I suppose it's easier this way. I can just get over the hurt and anger without having to deal with the emotional repercussions of actually seeing him in person. What would we talk about? What could I say to him, what could he say to me? Nothing. Nothing at all. And yet there's this niggling "I want to know" voice in the back of my head that still wants to see him. Stupid voice.

Botanologia, the essay is available at the Library of Congress, and probably through university libraries, but to get a copy for yourself is hard because it's a rare book. I found the exerpts on the web, being a rabid John D. MacDonald fan via the Travis McGee books, to which I am passionatly attatched.

I have obtained two applications, one for Borders, one for Lane Bryant, to fill out tonight. Rah, rah, for a weekend job. I hope. I'll probably end up working one or two weekday nights as well, hopefully not into the wee hours of the morning, though.

Halfway through _Claudius the God_, after reading _I,Claudius_. Also finished _Sillouhette in Scarlett_ (a Vicky Bliss book) which was a lot of fun - better than I had feared, since I don't really like the one about the reliquary (or was it an altarpiece?) or _Street of the Five Moons_ all that much. I love _Trojan Gold_ and _Last Train to Memphis_ muchly, though. I'm also reading _Noble House_ by James Clavell again, but only at home because I had to buy the hardback and it's a wrist-breaker. Next up is probably a reread of all the ASH books by Mary Gentle, or maybe a cruise through the Belgariad (good brain candy). I feel like reading a longish fantasy series, and since George R. R. Martin isn't being obliging enough to release the next book in the Ice and Fire series, I'll have to resort to stuff I already own. Oh, I also illicitly read most of Kadge Baker's collection of Company short stories in the bookstore last night (It's titled _White Knights, Black Ops_) and will buy it ASAP. She's one of the few short story writers I really enjoy, the others being Ray Bradbury and Connie Willis. Of course, all the stories are like short snippets of the wider world of the Company books, so it's like putting together a puzzle. Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous stuff.

Going to mail off a postcard to a local artist who uses them in her work. Wooba.

10:53 a.m. - 2002-09-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce