Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bumping into old...friends?

Our organization appeared in a nice little article in one of the local newspaper's family sections the other day. It had all the important stuff, like phone numbers, down correctly - but managed to distort so much of what our hard-working education curator told her that it's a wonder she didn't call us a museum on Trucking, Farm Equipment, and Propane Accessories. The errors were just strange...an assertion that doll houses were simpler, frequently having only one room (Education Curator: "Wha? I never said anything remotely *like* that to her!) to things that were half-right, and half-totally-wrong, proving the reporter was listening with only one ear. The press is wonderful, and all, but it's things like this that make me wonder how much stuff in the newspapers is actually correct.

The apartment continues to slowly take on dimensions of human inhabitation. We dropped some money on groceries the other day, so got to play "stock the pantry" with the goodies. On the trip, however, something that frequently happens to The Bemo but not so much to me occured. While I was moving to take posession of a shopping cart, another woman was making a beeline for the same cart. We both paused, ready to be polite, and then she took a closer look at me and said, "Wait, I know you." I looked back at her, and felt faint bells chiming in the background of my brain, but I knew I didn't know her very well. It turns out that we have a mutual friend in common, but the friend (Cherbear) didn't spend all that much time with her (they were both drama geeks). She was a year behind me, so we didn't really have any classes together and since I did very little in high school, and she was involved in drama, the German Honor Society, and various other things (I checked the yearbook when I got home), it's still a mystery why we remember each other. Or, rather, why she remembers me fairly well - I don't really remember her except for her work in Midsummer's Night's Dream. Even the play that we were both in, "South Pacific," isn't a clue, because I was cast as a random island girl and then had to drop out at my mother's insistence (she was going to have a Major Operation Any Day Now, which I should note, has not as of yet taken place.) But we chatted, and she's a friendly, personable sort, so I may invite her to whatever housewarming/spaghetti feast/get-to-gether that actually happens.

Really, very amusing, all in all.

2:22 p.m. - 2004-03-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce