Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Does this mean I am now a Party Doyenne?

Despite the leftover party clutter, my house is still cleaner than it generally is, which should tell you something about the general state of my housekeeping. So the empty punchbowl sitting in my sink, and the mishmash of plates with crumbs or unidentified stickiness that need to be put into the dishwasher don't bug me. Because despite several last-minute no-shows, the party? She was a success.

There only ended up being seven of us, which meant that there were acres of food left untouched. (There was also the fact that despite my deepest fears, everybody got along and chatted away so enthusiastically that they kept forgetting to go back to the table to get more food.) The sausage rolls that Sometoast gave me the recipe for went over like gangbusters, as did the deliciously spiked eggnog. My sister made out like a bandit, because I gave her tons of food and drink to carry back to campus.

Persia and Cherbear and Prep Lad all got along very nicely, and there was much discussion about art and books and zombie movies, although there was a lateral move into Scary Things I Have Experienced That Were Probably Ghosts, which was directed at me since I refuse to watch horror movies and am easily creeped out. I assume that Prep Lad will now increase his offhand comments about ghosts roaming the halls of our workplace. I'll be bustling around the office, looking for something that I swear I saw there earlier, and he'll go, "No, I never moved it. Must have been the restless spirits of the unquiet dead." And I will go "Aaaaaaagh," and try to hit him. This is what is known as good workplace relations.

Went shopping with Cherbear and picked up Persia's present. Also got myself some Eucalyptus and Spearmint sugar scrub from Bath and Body Works, because I love the way it smells. Delish - I think I'll treat myself to a long bath tonight.

5:41 p.m. - 2004-12-12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce