Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a canzone and a sonnet

Petrarch:

Blessed may be the day, the month, the year,
And the season, the time, the hour, the point,
And the country, the place where I was joined
By two fair eyes that now have tied me here.
And blessed be the first sweet agony
That I felt in becoming bound to Love,
And the bow and the arrows piercing me,
And the wounds that go down so deep to move
Blessed the many voices that I raised,
Calling my lady, to scatter her name,
And blessed be my tears, my sighs, my heart;
Blessed may be the paper where more fame
I earn for her, my thought by which she is praised,
Only her own: no one else has a part.

Broken the column and the green bay tree
That lent a shade to my exhausted thought;
And I have lost what can nowhere be sought
In any distant wind or distant sea.
You took away from me my double treasure,
Death, which had made my life proud and secure;
What neither earth nor kingdom can allure,
Nor oriental gem, nor golden measure.
But if to accept this is destiny,
What can I do but wear eyes wet with
sad soul and a face shut to all views?
O life that are so beautiful to see,
How quickly in one morning do we lose
What we gained with great pain in many years!

5:36 p.m. - 2003-04-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce