Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What, nobody was interested in researching Renaissance prints in four months?

Occasionally, small, but really weird things happen and make you stop and go, "What the fuck?". One of them happened to me today.

A while back, I bought a photograph from the British Museum. It shows an engraving that's the centerpiece of my thesis. About a month ago, I realized I had misplaced it somehow. I thought it had fallen out of my blue binder, but that didn't make any sense because the brown photo envelope that it was safely protected in was still in the binder. I shrugged, and figured I'd blow another twenty bucks or so and buy another one. It was a hassle, but not a giant one.

I've been trying to use my weekend as thesis writing time, so today I dutifully toddled off to do some library work. So I went to GMU, amassed a huge stack of books to go through, and whipped out my trusty yellow legal pad. I had read over some of the books already,but I wanted to go back over for more details and to double-check my page numbers. One of them in particular, The Renaissance Print, had a lot of good information, and even had a picture of my "centerpiece" print of St. Catherine. So naturally, I flip to that page to see it.

Only to find, tucked neatly between those pages, my British Museum photo. Which was still there, months and months after I had last used the book and, apaprently, used the photo as a big ole' inappropriate bookmark.

I tucked it back into its photo envelope, which I still had been carrying around with me, said "Whoa, that was weird," and continued to read.

6:29 p.m. - 2004-08-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce