Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Genibee, high-stakes gambler

Yesterday was a Saturday of No Work Yes Party, and it was good.

Bemo's office party was held at Laurel Racetrack. I decided to pull twenty bucks out of the ATM to gamble with (little did I know that the ATM was the real risk, as it had a four dollar service fee. FOUR. DOLLAR. FEE. I nearly choked) and ended with only having lost a dollar at the end of the day. I did go a little gambling crazy, perusing the race program with zeal and a little mania, and discussing what the weirdly arcane racing lingo might mean with a friend of Bemo's from his station. I seemed to have decent instincts, but I was also betting really cautiously. Reeeeallly cautiously, actually - if you bet a horse to win show (out of win, place, show) then you technically win as long as your horse finishes someplace in the top three. You don't win much - basically your bet back plus some loose change - but you win. However, if you go to the track site and look at the article on Worldly Pleasure, that was the horse that I bet on and it won won, instead of just placed in the top three won, like most of my other pics. As it was the last race of the day, it was a nice way to end things. Honestly, having a two-dollar bet on a horse may not seem like much, but I was all wound up, hooting and hollering at the rail, just like all the other weird people who seem to loiter around racetracks. We're talking little old guys with stogies, young rednecky types with kids, average-vaguely-frat-boy looking types (although almost no women at all, except for a few jockeys, which I just think is ridicuously cool.) I love it. Must take Boop, as I think she'll love it just as much.

We headed home, chilled for a bit, and then I headed out to Cherbear's Christmas party, held (as is apparently the rule with her circle of college friends, at someone else's house). It was a nice, relaxing evening, and even though I don't know this group of her friends all that well, and I do have to watch my frequently foul mouth around them (Heh!), it was a good time. I'll post pics if Cher emails them to me (Hint, hint!) Plus, I'm going with them to Return of the King, so I got my ticket in my hot little hand that night. Ahhh, bliss.

11:09 p.m. - 2003-12-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce