Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Potluck

Was irritated to note that my roommate's idea of posting the bills was to put up a second copy of her sheet of looseleaf paper with the running tally of our debts to her on it - the exact same piece of paper that she kept downstairs. I *know* about that stuff. So I asked her to put up the actual bills, and she got a bit snide, ("I'm not *cheating* you or anything") and said that I couldn't post the bills on the fridge because then she'd forget about them and not pay them. So she's leaving them ontop of her green chest of drawers in the kitchen, where I can peruse them. I fended off the "do you think I'm cheating you" thing with a very blunt "it's not really about you, actually, it's about me and my financial planning." Seemed to satisfy her.

The biggest problem with moving out to Fredricksburg or its environs would be the commute. It would truly suck, especially since 95 South is gridlocked just about twenty-four/seven. On the other hand, maybe an eternity spent in the car is simply the price we have to pay for our own house. Somewhere, I'm just hoping Bemo will get steady work so we don't have to go that far out to get a cheap apartment. He has more irons in the fire, and some of them even look more promising than they usually do, but I'm not holding my breath. On the other hand, maybe now that his band is starting to gig out, he can pick up the extra cash that way. That's a bit more dubious, though - bands have to build a reputation first, and that takes time.

Need to use up the rest of my film and see if this roll has the Boston trip photos on it.

Have been rereading Tolkien again, and am now most of the way through Return of the King. I think my favorite bits of poetry are the ones from Rohan, with that magnificent bumpety bump meter. I just got the newest translation of Beowulf, so that's next on the menu. It's fabulous to read aloud.

Going with Boop tonight to scour travel books and see if we can get this Rome thing underway. Cross your fingers that mom doesn't change her mind at the last minute.

1:03 p.m. - 2003-01-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce