Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Danger: Money Ranting Ahead

Spent the evening with Persia and the fresh-from-Oxford-and-Dublin Cherbear, who got back incountry day before yesterday. It was great to see her after so many months, and we all gabbed late into the evening. She's at the point now where her life is a blank slate, and all she has to do is pick which direction she wants to go towards. Well, I say "all" - it's a tough thing to choose, and while you can revel in that kind of freedom, you can also drive yourself batty worrying about which direction is the right one. Her trip seemed to go very well, although in a bit of a blur (lord, do I know that feeling) but I wonder if it wasn't quite as profound a life-altering experience as we all assumed it would be. For one, she hasn't come back with a man in tow, as we all teased her! Still and all, this kind of interior readjusting and growing can sometimes run under the surface, to make itself evident days, weeks, or years later. I guess we'll all see.

Still in a mood where I want to crawl into a small dark place and pull the door shut behind me, although that's starting to trickle away as the week goes on and Friday/payday gets closer. Also have made a decision, based on lots of thought and discussion with the girlies yesterday night, to tackle the roommate about posting the totals of all the utility bills along with our share on the house whiteboard. Seems like a small thing to ask (and one I should have done long ago), but it's something I haven't done as roommate gets very defensive very quickly.

Also, we're wondering about all the premium cable channels. When Bemo and I moved in, roommate had them all, and it seemed to me like we were tacitly agreeing that we would share in these. But with bills being so steep, is it fair for us to ask to go down to basic cable and, should roommate want the premium channels, to pay for them herself? Except we have a cable box upstairs, and so I couldn't prove that we weren't watching HBO on the sly, or something. Also a problem - we have cable internet. At the moment, roommate's computer is on the fritz, and she hasn't done anything much about getting it fixed, so we've been the only ones in the house using the internet. I *think* that roommate is still splitting the costs of it with us, although I am not sure (this is part of the posting bills issue) so it would be fair for her to ask us to take over the entire cost of internet cable until she gets her computer back on line. I haven't bothered with thinking about this because I just figured that between us paying for half of the premium and half of the internet cable compared to paying for none of the premium and all of the internet cable, things would pretty much stay the same. Again, seeing the bills would clear this up.

I have to laugh - I've really been giving away a lot of power in this landlord/tenant situation because I've been scared to offend, and yet all the things I should be asking for are things that any tenant should be able to ask of the person doing the renting.

8:58 a.m. - 2002-12-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce