Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Saving my Sanity

I had a splendiferous day yesterday. Left work at one, and walked up to the National Gallery, stopping to stroll through the sculpture garden along the way. Temps were in the low sixties, and sitting in the sun felt delicious, even though it was rather windy and every once in a while I'd get misted by spray from the fountain. I went on to the National Gallery and visited Lorenzo and Giotto's Madonna and Child and the incredible Chuck Close's Fanny/Fingerpainting which looks like a photograph. If you look closer, however, you can see it's all his fingerprints making the marks on the canvas. The piece is huge, too - 102 x 84 inches.

I strolled leisurely back and went to American History, which was an absolute zoo. It's got to be one of the most unorganized major museums in the country, but there was a very interesting exhibit centered around a house that had been occupied since the early 1700's until the 1960's. The actual house was taken apart and rebuilt in the museum. Fascinating.

I really needed a mental health day, and yesterday was the perfect solution. I feel a lot more refreshed and happy now. Ahhhh. And I found more books to add to my wish list, just in time for my birfday! Hee, I feel deliciously evil.

9:06 a.m. - 2003-04-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce