Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can see! I can seeeeeeeeeee!

I got contacts, I got contacts!

*pauses to shake her bootie in the wild "I got contacts" dance, that strongly resembles the lambada. Or the Horizontal Zulu War Bop*

Ahem.

Today was a long, tiring day. I'm still slightly headachy as a result of it all. Basically, we were on the run from nine am till the end of the day, putting rooms together, hauling a hand-painted 1828 globe up three flights of stairs because it didn't fit in the elevator, hauling furniture out from cramped storage areas for photograhphy.

Will somebody tell me how we can coax the curators into searching the database for objects BEFORE they accept new ones? Because one of them won't stop accepting silver teaspoons, despite the fact that we have an entire storage area devoted to them that is groaning at the seams. And another just added a blown glass tumbler that he was terribly excited about getting. So we put it carefully away in storage...RIGHT NEXT TO ITS IDENTICAL TWIN. Same pattern, same size. And a third one talks a good game about not accepting twentieth century objects but keeps trying to sneak them past us. I swear to god, one day they'll all be found chopped into tiny bits and crammed into our tea chest from the Boston Tea Party. Or inside Paul Revere's teapot.

I can really see much better in these contacts. They correct for astigmatism, and have a little tiny weight imbedded in the contact to make it rotate around to the correct position. And they're comfortable and best of all, I don't have to use Bausch and Lomb's stingy RENU brand solution. Apparently I'm not the only one who was having problems with that stuff, because the woman helping me fit my contacts today told me it was the harshest stuff on the market.

Met up with Persia in the Teachers Mart before I went into my eye appointment. She was rewarding her daughter for not punching back when some obnoxious little classmate socked her in the arm for no good reason. Instead, she calmly went up and told the teacher, displaying the welt. Said obnoxious classmate is suspended for three days as this was apparently one in a string of offenses. So Kristen was being rewarded with sparkly rainbow pencils and memo books. Hee, like momma, like sprout.

I am out of book. And I'm bored with music right now because it feels like I've heard it all a million times. Hmphf.

8:29 p.m. - 2002-11-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce