Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fighting the desire to backhand Emma

Thank god we get July 4 off - it'll be the last breather before the week of Congress sweeps over us. Picture, if you will, a building a-buzz with many many older women, most of them kited up in sashes stuck full of pins, many wearing ultrasuede suits (not as popular since Congress moved to July), most with stiffly shellacked hair, and all of them twittering away at each other and getting lost in the hallways. In between these activities, they show up in my office and ask stupid questions. Oh, such a fun week it will be!

Finally got an appointment at the dentist. Yay, dentist. Well, not really, but a couple of teeth have been twinging ever so slightly, and I want them looked at. Plus, for some reason I've recently started to manifest stress by clenching my teeth, which is a habit I have never had until now. I may need help breaking it.

Mom's backyard landscaping project is mostly done, and it looks lovely, what with all the day lillies and irises and such. Hopefully the dogs won't destroy it. They're learning to hop along on the large boulders and not tromp through the mulch, so I suppose there's hope. All that's left is the small goldfish pond and "stream," plus the teahouse bridge to connect the two patios. I'll post a picture when I can.

Rereading Harry Potter, because it's such a nice big book, full of lovely detail. But I'm also reading Emma, and finding it not quite as pleasurable as I found Pride and Predjudice, nor as pleasurable as I remember. For some reason, Emma is getting on my nerves more than she did previously. Maybe I should reread some of the Austens I'm not as familiar with, or go back and reread some of the George Eliots. Middlemarch might feel good right now.

9:18 p.m. - 2003-07-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce