Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday morning musings

Mmmph. Sorry for any excitement I may have caused about the next Thursday Next book, _Lost in a Good Book_. The guy who was discussing it got an advance copy, the bastard. Us mortals won't be able to get a hold of it until March 2003. At any rate, he says it's excellent, just as good as the first one, so start saving your pennies now for it, people!

Supposed to go see Persia's friend's band play last night, but plans fell through so we ate dinner, yakked incessently, watched a movie, ate chips and dip, and yakked s'more. Just as good as an evening out, and a damn sight cheaper, which I appreciated. So broke...so very broke...

SWOOP, I loved Instance of the Fingerpost very very much the first time I read it, but I'm doing a bit of flipping through it this time through. I do love how the story seems to deepen, and how other sides of characters are revealed, so I have to revamp my opinion of them constantly. On the other hand, it's causing some problems with the re-read, because I'm trying to anticipate things without much memory - "lessee now, was he the one who turned out to be a real jerk even though I liked him at first, or is he the one who everybody thought was a goober but he was really a super spy..." stuff like that. The first time I read the book, I couldn't put it down, I was so involved with what was happening. I like Pears' lighter mysteries, although not to any wild extent - they're fun, light reads, about 180 degrees opposite IotFP.

Some people have seen my banner! And some have even clicked through! Yippie - now I'm going to have to be more entertaining so that they aren't plunged into disappointment when they see my offerings.

Woof - tomorrow I have to go find a chair for a rather nice paper mache doll that's been missing since 1975. She went out with other dolls to a doll club that refurbed them for the museum, and apparently didn't find her way back. The doll club member who had her just died and the little dollie was found and returned, so she can go sit back in the New Hampshire attic in pride of place. At least she's not one of the scary, cracked-face, eye bugging out dolls. Those things make me reallllly nervous.

Oh, and I also have to put away more snuffboxes. I am happy to report that I am more than two-thirds of the way through. It means that I may yet survive this ordeal without cracking and going up to the roof to pelt passers-by with little enamel boxes painted up with flowers and shepherdesses. And thus the world is saved again...

11:45 a.m. - 2002-06-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce