Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Indy city

Back from Indy - tired, but triumphant. Our session was expected to draw about a hundred people, but the count ended up being closer to one hundred fifty. Apparently my utter panic looked to the crowd like like calm, as several people complimented me on speaking slowly and calmly. In fact, when I get flustered, I tend to blank out, so that calmness was actually me frantically thinking what to say next, and not coming up with much. What really made a good impression were the images I assembled of our collection, to use as examples of things that might be difficult to pack. People liked looking at them, and it made a good jumping-off point for other discussions. And now I'm going to be giving a poor, inexperienced girl long-distance advice as she and one assistant struggle to move big, unwieldy, gilt-framed oil paintings from one building to another.

My mentor, who was chairing the session, gave me a fantabulous Dorothy L. Sayers t-shirt as a thank you. I adore it most deliriously. It shows her dressed in a skull-printed dress, with the most Sayers-esque expression on her face. So cool!

Indy, or at least the convention center/downtown area that we were in, was nice enough but strangly bland and empty-feeling. At the height of what would have been rush hour in most cities, there was almost no traffic, so I don't know if it just has a small population, if we weren't where any of the actual buisnesses were, or what the story was, but there was none of that vibrant energy that you can sense in most cities. The hotels and convention center were all linked with skywalks, which meant that had I chosen to, I could have spent the entire trip going through the mall, my hotel, Kateh's hotel, and the convention center without stepping foot outside. Very odd feeling, and some people found themselves getting cranky before they realized that they needed to go outside for a breath of air.

Was supposed to bring the fudge I brought home with me into work on Friday, but in a weak moment, split it with the husband.

Fudge was very tasty.

On the other hand, the house was really messy when I got back. I slept in and then did a little rudimentary tidying. Will be back at work tomorrow.

Sometimes I really enjoy being a professional.

8:14 p.m. - 2005-05-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce