Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

writing on writing

Not a long entry, because nothing much has been going on. Been reading a lot - Posession, by Byatt, Pyramids, by Pratchett, and a progression (regression?) through the Mercedes Lackey books, which I regard as very guilty pleasures. It's a series that is occasionally very rewarding, because a few of the books do stand out above the crowd, but the vast majority of them are simply good mind-candy. Like Anita Blake, it's a fun world to imagine yourself playing in. And sometimes, that's all you want. It may dredge a fanfic out of me, which would be nice, considering the most recent Anita Blake fic I've been working on has stalled out completely.

I'm not, I think, a very good writer - just as my friend Chessica has a wonderfully free and natural and engaging style in front of a classroom, I enjoy many writers who have a free, breezy, and natural style of writing. I have particular problems with dialogue, and I admire the hell out of anybody who can write the stuff without being stilted or strained. However, I'm a pretty harsh critic on judging what I'll read, and if a person isn't engaging (whether it's in a book, on Diaryland, or on Usenet) I'm outta there. My style tends to be very drawn out, with long linking sentences and lots of commas. It works, sometimes, in academic papers where it comes across as flowing, however it isn't exactly the best for narrative.

Anyway.

More room shuffling tomorrow, but we're definitely seeing the light and the end of the tunnel. All the rooms that need to be dismantled are, but they all still need to be reassembled, which takes just as much (if not more) effort. Putting the curtains back up, as I may have pointed out earlier, is a royal bitch and a half in several rooms, but I think we're ok on this floor, as most of them are mounted on boards.

1940 House is coming up this fall on PBS...I'm looking forward to it. Wouldn't a Gilded Age one be fun, done up as a very wealthy family? But you have to marry your daughter off to impoverished European nobility...

9:06 p.m. - 2002-10-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce