Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

callouses and books

(I came back and added a few things to the end of this entry, in case you missed them) Hehehehehehehehe.


Boromir's my fancy!
What's your fancy? Click here and tell the world!

There were so many other good ones, but I'll stick with my man Boromir - at least until his hottie younger brother makes his big screen debut.

Swwoop, I will let you know about _Death in Holy Orders_. I've read it once already, but it was sort of hurried, so I'm taking my time with this reread. I do remember noticing with the past several books that James was starting to reuse plot elements from her earlier books. We've *seen* the cloistered community with the people all dressed in monks robes out perched on the edge of a cliff with the wild ocean below. The difference is that Brother Wilfred's cloistered community was mired in despair and backbiting, while the religious community doesn't seem to be quite as vicious with each other. What kind of mixed feelings did you have about it?

My fingertips are sore from playing bass (see previous entry). I haven't developed the impressive callouses that eventually crop up once you start playing seriously. Bemo, in his heyday of playing every day, could flip burgers on the griddle with his fingertips. I know, I know...ewww. But when I had callouses from my aikido training, I was so proud of them. It meant I was working at something in a dedicated way. So I'd look at my ugly feet and be happy.

My book order of Hellenga's _A Sparrow Falls_ still hasn't show up yet. Another few days, and I'll have to send the online bookstore a stern note. Astralounge wrote an interesting comment on an entry by Fuzzybottom which I found very worth reading. It's on Hollywood and expectations we make in our own life because we're all conditioned to it from the movies (and books and other mass media).

11:17 a.m. - 2002-05-20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce