Andare, Partire, Tornare

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can you be kind?

Not too much going on today, besides an arm-aching session helping put the curtains back up in the Missouri room. I love to look at a nice window treatment, but I hate working with the stupid things. I do not have the magic touch with fabric.

Need to go on a grocery run since this Friday is payday - the cupboard is looking distinctly bare. And I'm out of granola bars, which are my temporary replacement in the mornings for oatmeal. No more gummi worms for me, though - I think I've reached my limit on them for a while.

How can two cats trash a large litterbox in such a short amount of time? I think my eyelashes were melting as I scooped out the box. Of course, one of them is a boycat who doesn't know how to cover poop. Men are the same no matter what species they claim to belong to.

More weirdness in the sniper thing, including a ten million ransom note, threats, and other bizzare stuff that has made this all feel like some sort of bad tv show. Despite the whole thing happening in and around my neighborhood, I feel pretty detatched from the whole thing because it's all been playing out on tv (and the occasional bad traffic jam, but that's hardly anything new in this town) and it just doesn't make me overly paranoid. Now, I will freely confess to walking briskly to my car whenever leaving Petsmart or Borders, but I don't seem to be plagued by any sort of anxiety, despite a few emails from friends asking me to *please* not get shot, already.

Speaking of Petsmart, I have won a minor victory with them. I have been put on the schedule! So now my training can actually begin in ernest, as opposed to my simply sitting in the break room trying not to watch Monsters, Inc. playing on the staff tv while I fill out an exercise book asking me to name a dog in the Sporting Group, and then locate the tip of a dog's tail. Puh-fucking-lease. I'm deeply debating whether to start the process to get hired as an exhibition aid at the National Gallery (thanks, Cassius for the phone numbers) and make eleven an hour. There would be a weekend commute into the city, but I could deal with that. It's a long process, though. Background check, which I suppose I could pass, there being nothing particularly untoward in my history. But I always feel like they're going to find something anyway, even if I've never done it. Ditto for the pee test I have to do for Petsmart. For what it's worth, Petsmart has been the only place I've ever worked that has made me pee in a cup for them. It's a novel experience for me.

Hmm. Perhaps I'd better go eat before grocery shopping, or else I'll buy up the whole store...

6:48 p.m. - 2002-10-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

Blogroll

random entry

other diaries:

caerula
dichroic
sometoast
mechaieh
weetabix
trancejen
unclebob
smartypants
clcassius
badsnake
bafleyanne
abendbrot
marn
batten
herworship
sundry
keryanna
idiot-milk
saint-louise
skim
ursamajor
goodsandwich
culotte
seussie
cariboutwo
tanisanne
madamepierce